So...we are done with classes. I know how to birth a child... care for a child... now feed a child. I am ready - I think!
We went into our last class, breastfeeding, a little apprehensively because lets face it... there are some people out there who are extremely passionate and in my opinion weird about breastfeeding. We anticipated the instructor to be some quirky hippie who would try to shove the idea of breastfeeding, till my child is 7, down my throat. I went into the class with an open mind - Thank God.
On the way to the class Matthew asked, "do we really have to go to this class?" and of course I said "no... but I do think it will make me feel better about the choice to breastfeed...yada yada yada... plus I bet you will see lots of boobs and what guy wouldn't like that?" Then he said..."are they going to make you pull your boob out in front of everyone and like practice?" I just cracked up... I mean, is this really how guys think? I could just picture all of us sitting in a circle and practicing with some breastfeeding practice doll... for a brief minute I got nervous, because I am so stinkin' modest, but then I brought myself back to reality and realized they would never have us do that.
We get to the class and would you believe it... the instructor was a too old to have long haired hippie, who claimed to have 5 children and breastfed them all until they decided they had enough. We just kinda exchanged a glance and braced ourselves for an interesting evening. :)
The night was going well - the videos were graphic and outdated and the presentation was a little scatter brained but overall the information was good. The cherry on top was when all of the sudden I see an attachable and detachable boob show up on the table. She then proceeded to safety pin a "demonstration" boob on her clothes. We were just so distracted by this life like 3rd boob it took a few minutes to re-focus, haha. I will admit- I learned some things I otherwise would not have known or known to try. It also boosted my confidence with the knowledge I already have and prepared me for some issues that may arise. An overall good learning experience just a little humorous at the same time :)
I went to the doctor today and my platelet count is not at a concerning level so Pax man will stay in and we will not induce! Matthew and I met 8 years ago this July 4th and we were kinda hoping for a July 4th baby but the Lord will send me into labor in His time so until then we will wait... and wait.... and wait :)
That is all for now, looking forward to family fun this weekend!
Until next time... lots of love!
Katy, I was cracking up reading this blog!! I remember going through the same stuff when I was pregnant with Nick and then again with Savannah!! Soooo funny! You guys are going to have so much fun with your little guy! Enjoy your time together!
ReplyDeleteLove, Louise
Katy, I was laughing hysterically reading your blog...I just love it! I remember those same quirky classes, too. As Louise said, enjoy the time you have left ALONE...Paxton will be here before you know it and your time will be all about him. Lots of love,
ReplyDeletePaula :)