Okay - so by nature, I am usually a pretty positive person. But, Matthew and I have been through a whirlwind of a week - I am going to vent and I don't care!
It all started last Wednesday when I was siting on the couch and all of the sudden I hear "Warning, carbon monoxide, exit immediately.... Warning, carbon monoxide, exit immediately.... etc, etc, etc" I immediately jumped up, grabbed my phone and the dogs and I headed outside. You would think you know what to do when that happens but I had never thought about what to do when the carbon monoxide detector went out so guess what I did... I googled it. Go ahead and make fun... I felt like and idiot when I read "call the fire department". So I did and spoke to the fire chief and he said "no worries I'll send someone out immediately". I figure cool; they will come in a suv or truck, like the ones I see and always wonder what they are used for, and they'll take care of it. Oh no... next thing I know a stinkin' firetruck pulls up to the street drives all the way down makes a u turn, all the neighbors and kids come out and they park in front of my house. Needless to say, I am sitting in an air conditioned car and they walk up and Matthew escorts them in. Thank the Lord we didn't really have carbon monoxide poisoning, it was a mal function and we were told just watch the batteries. We moved on with life had a perfectly normal Thursday, but the next day... "Warning, carbon monoxide, exit immediately.... Warning, carbon monoxide, exit immediately.... etc, etc, etc". Its a Friday afternoon (4:00) before a holiday and the fire department had already been out once so we had to be resourceful and decided to call the electrician who had installed the darn things. He really didn't want to come but I begged him and he showed up with a smile at 5:30... replaced all of our detectors (supposedly the whole batch installed in the house were bad... very reassuring...not) Since then we have not had any issues... cross your fingers
So then Saturday rolled around... we had a great day... Got home just in time for Matthew to start cutting the grass... I cleaned the house and around 6:45 we heard thunder and lightening. We did a rain dance in the front yard and then all h-e double hockey sticks broke loose and Matthew was stuck outside with an eighth of the yard left to mow. He pushed through and then came in (my clean house) dripping with green water -since he insists on cutting the grass barefoot. I cleaned up and all was well (we had planned on eating out and going to babied r us) until the lights went off... and stayed off. We lost all electricity and it didn't come back. This was at around 7:45pm ... we called, reported it and they assured us it would be back on by midnight. Manageable, right? We opened the windows, took a nap, ate Mcdonalds and just spent time together. We were afraid to leave the house because our animals are spoiled and we were afraid they would freak out in a dark house with no air. So our plans had to change. Midnight rolled around and not only did we not have power but there were also zero workers to be seen. Low and behold a transformer had blown in our neighbors backyard and there were about 10 houses with no power. My superhero husband busted out the generator and a fan... and this 38 week pregnant woman found a way to get comfortable on the couch. We had decided not to leave the house because we figured the electricity would come back quickly... but it didn't. We woke up every few hours throughout the night, calling to get updates and eventually at 9:30 the next morning... everything kicked back on. We went and got donuts (yes McDonalds and donuts within the same 24 hour period, ouch) and brought some back to the workers as well... they had been working since 4am. We celebrated our electricity (its amazing what you appreciate when you go without) ... sat down on the couch to "relax" and you guessed it.... the tv didn't work. We tried another tv... same thing. We tried the internet... nope. We had nothing... we had air, but nothing else.
Are you kidding me??
Monday was a holiday so of course, no one could come out to the house until Tuesday. Yes, we could survive without the luxury of tv but I didn't want to. We couldn't do anything about it so we just decided to go with it.
Monday (July 4th )was a very busy day... we slept in after our traumatic Saturday night... had breakfast together and went on a whirlwind of a day running errands and preparing for a meeting Matthew had Tuesday. We got home that afternoon just beat and decided to stay in for the night. Our dogs had been so good through our crazy weekend so we decided to take them to the dog park and 10 minutes into our play time our sweet boy Junior took off after a frisbee and next thing we knew he was on the ground wailing and crying in pain. We have never been in an emergency situation like that before so we both calmly figured out a plan. We didn't know what was wrong but Junior couldn't walk and we knew we needed to get him help. We dropped off Lieba (our other German Shepard) and loaded Junior in my car to take him to the animal hospital. We were seen around 10 pm and 3 hours later we were back home with pain meds, anti inflammatory, useless x rays and frustration with no diagnosis other than if he isn't better after 2 days take him to your vet.
Tuesday morning, Matthew and I both knew he was not okay. We made arrangements to take him to the Texas A&M Veterinary Hospital that evening... my gracious parents met us at the house and Dad helped Matthew load Junior into the car and went with Matthew to College Station. Mom and I stayed back (in case Paxton decided to come) and anxiously awaited a phone call.
It finally came and we discovered that he had pulled his ACL and would need a TPLO surgery asap. As hard as it was to hear... we were thankful to know he could have the surgery, recover and live a semi modified life!
Than the panic set in...
I am due July 14... we are going to have a newborn, a very hurt dog recovering from surgery and two other animals to deal with. It all happened so fast and I suddenly felt so overwhelmed. I sat down and just cried - basically had a breakdown.
We literally had experienced one - thing - after - another... and I was supposed to hold it all together. Well, I lost it. I prayed and a few minutes later brought myself back to reality. We are so blessed... Paxton has everything he will need, I am heathly, we are happy and we are perfectly capable of handling whatever is thrown our way. I picked myself up and charged full steam ahead arranging surgery for Junior. (This was Wednesday)
Thursday morning (today) we had a doctors appointment and Matthew, Mom and I listened to our sweet baby's heartbeat and Dr. Westmoreland stripped my membrane.... OUCH. Then, she says, okay, well, if this works we'll have a baby in 24-48 hours. OMG
I got home and immediately got busy scheduling Juniors surgery which 4 hours later, I accomplished.
SO - Junior will have surgery tomorrow at Gulf Coast Veterinary Specialists Hospital and we are praying that our life decides to cooperate with us. If we can get Junior to the hospital and me home in case I go into labor, then we might be bringing home a new baby and Junior within a few days of eachother. Lore help us...
Juniors recovery will be tough and as wonderful as being a mommy will be... I also know that it is going to be tough. We are so thankful to have such great family and friends who are willing and able to help us and more than anything, we are so thankful to have our Faith and trust in the Lord to help us through it all.
Time to turn on the positive... We could be parents any day now. Wow... You know my Mom has always told me that the Lord wont give you more than you can handle. I , admittedly, have had to remind myself that everyday for the past few days and will have to continue to do so the next few weeks. I am done having my pity party, have a smile on my face and I am ready to take on the world!
Thank you.
Until next time... lots of love!
No comments:
Post a Comment